PM thanks NE people for reposing faith in BJP

Assembly election in Meghalaya

Speaking at a press conference at 16:00 IST, Shah said that the BJP is working towards ending Congress' and the Left Front's misrule across the country and that the party's golden period will only begin after victories in Kerala, Karnataka and West Bengal. Prime Minister Narendra Modi's "Act East Policy", if properly implemented will turn the fortunes of the state. In the last elections, it had won 29 seats in the 60-member assembly. The worst part is that in Tripura and Nagaland the party has got zero seats.

"In Tripura, at least until now, it looks like the BJP will be forming the next Government". This is the third successive election after Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh where the BJP and its allies have got almost 50 per cent vote. The idea was to inform the Governor well in advance to minimise horse trading as also to let the Governor take a quick decision on government formation.

CPI (M): BJP has, apart from other factors, utilised massive deployment of money & other resources to influence the elections.

Initial reports suggested that the BJP-led NDPP was set to form government in Nagaland as it was backed by JD (U) and an independent, thus having an overall tally of 31. "It is an endorsement of the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi by the people of the Northeast", he told a press conference in New Delhi. Meghalaya seemed to be heading for a hung House with Congress leading in 21 seats.

In a series of tweets, Yechury said: "We will continue to oppose BJP and its divisive agenda not only in Tripura but all over India". Both Mr Modi and Mr Shah said the poll results were a tribute to many party cadre who were victim of Left's political violence.

As per the Election Commission statistic, the BJP won 24 and is leading on 11 seats.

Sitting CPI-M legislator and Tribal Welfare Minister Aghore Debbarma (Asharambari constituency), Deputy Speaker of the Tripura assembly Pabitra Kar (Khayerpur), Samiran Malakar (Pabiachara), Manoranjan Debbarma (Mandai Bazar), Ratan Das (Ramnagar), Manindra Chandra Das (Kalyanpur-Promodnagar) are among the notable Left candidates who are trailing.

The National People's Party (NPP) won two seats and the Janata Dal (United) managed to secure one seat, the sources said. The smaller winning parties include PDF, ahead in four constituencies, UDP, which has won two and was ahead in four seats. Even though Manik Sarkar remains personally popular with nobody questioning his own clean image, voters said the rest of the party and its cadres were steeped in what they saw as institutionalised "top to bottom corruption".